Elders & Deacons

Elders & Deacons

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament Church provided persons with particular gifts to share in governing and ministry. Elders are chosen by the people. Together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, they exercise leadership, government, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of aparticular church as well as the church at large, including ecumenical relationships.

Elders: Ned Babb, Joe Bruner, Kathryn Callaway, Dan Cauble, Betsy Child, Meg Counts, Meg Crawford, Scott Daniel, Elise Denneny, Martha Dolinak, Dan Gaubas, Mike Glover, Marion Hannifin, Paul Harrison, Jim Harrison, Donna Kedrow, Bill Linam, John Luttrell, Justin Martin, Bee McCallie, Harriet Miller, Jim Mitchell, Matt Reed, Margaret Ritchie, Hanley Roach, Bill Taylor, and Joey White. Clerk of Session: Vance Link

The Session consists of the pastor, associate pastor(s), and the elders in active service.

The office of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, of exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies, and sound judgment should be chosenfor this office. It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyondthe community of faith. They shall assume such other duties as may be delegated to themfrom time to time by the session, such as leading the people in worship through prayers ofintercession, reading the Scriptures, presenting the gifts of the people, and assisting with the Lord’s Supper.

Deacons: Annie Ayres, Chandra Becker, Cory Beilharz, Stephanie Benko, Ed Campbell, Andy Cheadle, Cindy Compton, Susan Dickey, Meghan Diddle, Robyn Doiron, Clay Dye, Mike Foy, Jonathan Frazier, Lauren Hall, Cathy Henry, Jim Kirksey, Deborah Lewis, Louise Lindsay, Jerome Melson, Paige Moncier, Dorothy Moseley, Christin Myers, David Petersen, David Riestenberg, Warren Sanger, Ashley Stamper, and Sheila White.